A Library Free to All | Architecture for Public Benefit
© Chana Haouzi

Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award

The Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award, administered by the AIA Chicago Foundation, was established in 2020 to honor excellence in built projects and design programs guided by the conviction that access to high quality architecture is not a privilege, it is a human right. Architecture for Social Justice is defined by the following objectives:

  1. To engage a broader cross-section of society, especially those not typically able to access architectural services.
  2. To create innovative design solutions that address complex social and economic inequities that impact these communities.

This yearly award celebrates the commitment of designers who work on behalf of the public good while receiving no or below market rate compensation.*

*Market rate compensation is based on conventional fee structures.

About Roberta Feldman, Ph.D.

Roberta Feldman, Ph.D., is Professor Emerita at the University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Architecture. As an architectural activist, researcher, and educator she is committed to democratic design. Feldman’s work is grounded in the conviction that high quality design is a meaningful and necessary component of an equitable and sustainable society. Her expertise in such work has been recognized nationally and internationally.

Award Information

Submissions open: Week of April 15, 2024

Submissions close: Tuesday, May 28, 2024 at 5:00pm Central

Submission fee: Free to submit

Prize: A $2,500 monetary award will be given to the Honor Award recipient

2024 Rules and Regulations
Submission Success Webinar
Submissions Now Closed
View 2023 Recipients

This award is administered by:


2024 Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award Jury


Kerl LaJeune, Assoc. AIA, NOMA Jury Chair
Public Building Commission of Chicago
Chicago, IL


Anne-Marie Lubenau, FAIA
Harvard Graduate School of Design
Cambridge, MA


Walter D. Street III, AIA, NOMA
Walter Street Architecture
Chicago, IL


Lynette Stuhlmacher, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP
Red Leaf Studio Inc.
Evanston, IL


Dan Wheeler, FAIA
Wheeler Kearns Architects
Chicago, IL

Paid Advertisement