Optima Inc.

Optima Kierland Center, Optima, Inc., Firm Award Recipient 2022
© Optima, Inc.

Firm Award

The AIA Chicago Firm Award was established in 1991 to recognize outstanding achievements and excellence in the body of work produced by a firm over a period of time, the distinctive characteristics of a firm and its operations, and the ongoing contributions of the firm to the advancement of the architectural profession.

Award Information

Submissions Open: Friday, January 27, 2023
Submissions Close: Monday, February 27, 2023 at 5:00pm Central

Eligibility: AIA Chicago member. Successor firms may be considered if the collective body of work presented is that of most of the remaining principals. While the jury will examine the entire history of the firm, close attention will be given to the work of the past ten (10) years. Past award winning firms are eligible to re-apply after 10 years.

Selection Process: Submitted by firms and selected by a jury of previous recipients.

Rules and Eligibility
Submit your Firm

2023 Jury

Headshot of a man with a black shirt.

Paul De Santis, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP

Partner, Goettsch Partners

Man in a blue suit with black glasses

Peter Exley, FAIA, RIBA

Director, Architecture Is Fun, Inc.

Man in a grey suit in front of a brick wall

Doug Farr, FAIA

Founding Principal, Farr Associates

Headshot of Debbie Saad

Debbie Saad, AIA, LEED AP

Associate Director, bKL Architecture

Chris-Annmarie Spencer

Chris-Annmarie Spencer, AIA, NOMA

Principal, Wheeler Kearns Architects

Past Recipients

2022   none

2021   Optima, Inc.

2020   bKL Architecture, LLC

2019   Brininstool + Lynch

2018   Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture

2017   architectureisfun

2016   Wheeler Kearns Architects

2015   Perkins&Will

2014   Landon Bone Baker Architects

2013   Goettsch Partners

2012   Farr Associates

2011   Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

2010   Tigerman McCurry Architects

2009   Nagle Hartray Danker Kagan McKay Penney

2008   DeStefano Partners

2007   David Woodhouse Architects

2006   none

2005   none

2004   Krueck & Sexton Architects

2003   Daniel P. Coffey & Associates

2002   Teng & Associates

2001   none

2000  none

1999   Valerio Dewalt Train and Associates

1998   OWP & P

1997   Booth Hansen

1996   Wheeler Kearns Architects

1995   Ross Barney + Jankowski, Inc.

1994   Hammond, Beeby and Babka, Inc.

1993   Lohan Associates

1992   Perkins&Will

1991   Decker and Kemp Architecture and Urban Design

Paid Advertisement