Anna Munzesheimer

Distinguished Service Award

Since 1955, the Board of Directors of AIA Chicago has recognized individuals and organizations who have given outstanding service to the Chicago architectural community as a whole, including service to the profession, public service, and education.

This award is not necessarily presented every year. Individuals, associations, AIA Chicago members, and members of the Chicago community at large are eligible for this award. Past honorees have included architects, craftspersons, educators, authors, journalists, and organizations of various types.


Any of the following may be eligible for the Distinguished Service Award:

1. Individuals, firms, or organizations, in or outside the architecture profession, who have made significant contributions to the improvement of the Chicago’s built environment. Contributions may include, but are not limited to, advancement or development of laws, regulations, policies, or initiatives that promote excellence in architecture; the commissioning of notable projects to the built environment; or activities that raise the public's consciousness of the importance of excellent design in the shaping of our world and culture.

2. Architects who serve as elected or appointed officials, public administrators, or institutional leaders and establish and contribute to the development of laws, regulations, policies, or initiatives that promote excellence in architecture.

3. Architects, Educators or Allied Professionals who, by their skill, professionalism, dedication, ability, and commitment, and/or volunteer contributions have consistently advanced the Mission, Vision, and Strategic Goals of AIA Chicago.

Previous recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are eligible for nomination after ten years has passed since initially receiving the award.

Award Information

Submissions open: October 16, 2023
Submissions close: November 2, 2023; 5:00pm Central

Selection Process: Any AIA Chicago member in good standing may submit a nomination for the Distinguished Service Award.

The AIA Chicago Board of Directors will review all nominations and select this year’s recipient(s). The winners will be notified in early November and recognized at the AIA Chicago Annual Meeting in December.

Submit a Nomination

Past Recipients

2023.   Susan Benjamin, Maya Bird-Murphy and Mobile Makers, & Abraham Lacy and Far South Community Development Corporation

2022   John "Jack" Catlin, FAIA, Bonnie McDonald and Landmarks Illinois, & Laurie Petersen

2021   Joan Pomaranc, Hon. AIA Chicago

2020   Paola Aguirre, Eleanor Gorski, AIA, Marc Teer, FAIA, & Black Spectacles

2019   Lee Bey

2018   Chicago Dept. of Buildings and AIA Chicago Dept. of Buildings Working Group

2017   Steven Weiss, FAIA, service on AIA Contract Documents Committee, Krisann Rehbein, ACE Mentor Program Chicago

2016   Jennifer Masengarb, Assoc. AIA, Chicago Architecture Foundation, I-NOMA, Illinois Chapter, National Organization of Minority Architects, Arquitectos Chicago

2015   Julie Bachrach, Chicago Park District, Mary Woolever, Ryerson-Burnham Library, The Art Institute of Chicago

2014   Geoffrey Baer, WTTW

2013   Mike Jackson, FAIA, Illinois Historic Preservation Agency, Kevin Pierce, AIA

2012   Paul Knight, AIA, Lynn Becker, Vincent Paglione

2011   Ken Dunn, Chicago Recycling Center, Joyce Fernandes, architreasures, Asif Rahman, Chicago Dept. of Buildings

2010   John Vinci, FAIA and Ward Miller, Jonathan Fine, AIA

2009   David Sharpe, IIT

2008   Roberta Feldman, PhD

2007   Paul Lurie, Esq., Lori Healey, Donna Robertson, FAIA, IIT

2006   Frank Heitzman, AIA, Erik Olsen, PE

2005   no award

2004   Neal David, AIA, Robert Piper, FAIA, AICP, Gerald Horn, FAIA

2003   Richard Solomon, FAIA, Arthur Salzman, AIA

2002   John "Jack" Bowman, AIA, Andrew Mendelson, FAIA

2001   John "Jack" Lesniak, AIA, James J. Lucas

2000   Colin C. Munro, A. A. "Sak" Sakhnovsky

1999   Edward Uhlir, FAIA, Leonard Peterson, FAIA

1998   Harold Olin, FAIA

1996-97   no awards

1995   Lois Weisberg, Commissioner, Chicago Dept. of Cultural Affairso, Eva L. Maddox, Assoc. AIA, IIDA, Prof. Edward L. Deam, AIA

1994   Emil Pollack, Timothy Samuelson

1993   Seymour Persky, Esq.

1992   Turner Construction Company

1991   Wim de Wit, Chicago History Museum, Rev. Donald F. Rowe, S.J., John A. Holabird, Jr., FAIA

1990   Cynthia Weese, FAIA, Raymond A. Pigozzi, FAIA

1989.  John F. "Jack" Hartray, Jr., FAIA, Leon M. Despres

1988   Paul D. McCurry, FAIA, Edward H. Matthei, FAIA, Chicago Women in Architecture

1987   C. William Brubaker, FAIA, Kenneth Johnson, William S. Donnell

1986   Dept. of Architecture, The Art Institute of Chicago

1985   Marian A. Despres, M. W. Newman, William A. Rooney

1984   Marilyn Whittlesey Hasbrouck, Benjamin H. Weese, FAIA

1983   Women's Architectural League, George E. Danforth, FAIA, Stanley Tigerman, FAIA, Philip F. Purcell

1982   Carter H. Manny, Jr., FAIA, Fazlur Khan

1981   Ira J. Bach, Harry Weese, FAIA, Hedrich Blessing photographers

1980   Alfred Caldwell, Matthew Rockwell, Paul Theobold & Co., Carl W. Condit, Franz Lipp

1978-79   no awards

1977   George Sample

1972-76   no awards

1971   Rob Cuscaden

1961-70   no awards

1960   W. S. Tyler Co., Illinois Bronze Works Inc., Borg-Warner Corp.

1959   Richard Lippold

1957-58   no awards

1956   Sylvia Shaw Judson, Caesar Fiochi Co., Ravenswood Tile Co.

1955   American Terra Cotta Co., Rippel Architectural Metals, Hagerstrom Metalcraft Studio, Hartman-Sanders Co., Woodwork Corp. of America

Paid Advertisement