Gillson Park Beach House

Gillson Park Beach House | Woodhouse Tinucci Architects | Honor Award, Architecture XS
©Mike Schwartz

Design Excellence Awards

AIA Chicago’s Design Excellence Awards honor the outstanding work of AIA Chicago members and their firms, reinforce the value of great architecture, and highlight members’ contributions in designing equitable and sustainable places and spaces. These awards are given based on project square footage: Architecture: XL, L, M, S, and XS, and Interior Architecture: L, M, and S categories.

The highest possible honor, the Honor Award, recognizes projects that exemplify excellence in architectural design on all levels and embrace the highest standards to which AIA members aspire. One Honor Award is given for each of the project categories and must be selected by a unanimous vote from the jury.

Granted to projects which display a high standard of architectural quality and design, the Citation of Merit is a project deemed unanimously or by consensus of jury members. The number of Citation of Merit awards is given at the discretion of the jury.

Award Information

Submissions open: Monday, April 24, 9:00 AM Central
Submissions close:
Friday, June 2, 6:00 PM Central

2022 Rules and Regulations
Submissions Open in April
View Past Recipients

2022 Jury

Deborah Berke, FAIA
Deborah Berke Partners, New York

Annie Chu, FAIA
Chu-Gooding, Los Angeles

Jack DeBartolo 3, FAIA
debartolo architects, Phoenix

Merrill Elam, AIA
Mack Scogin and Merrill Elam Architects, Atlanta

Nicole Hollant-Denis, AIA, NOMA
Aaris Design Architects, New York

Damaris Hollingsworth, AIA
Design by Melo, St. Louis Park, Minnesota

Carolyn Kiernat, AIA
Page and Turnbull, San Francisco

Michael Marshall, FAIA, NOMA
Michael Marshall Design, Washington, DC

Mark Sanderson, AIA
Digsau, Philadelphia

Joan M. Soranno, FAIA
HGA, Minneapolis

Lawrence W. Speck, FAIA
Page Architects, Austin

Mehrdad Yazdani, Assoc. AIA
Yazdani Studio at CannonDesign, Los Angeles

Paid Advertisement