AIA Elevates Five AIA Chicago Members Amongst 73 Members and Three International Architects to the College of Fellows

WASHINGTON – February 21, 2023The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is elevating 73 member-architects to its College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession.

From left to right: David Block, FAIA; Mark Walsh, FAIA; Xuan Fu, FAIA; Mark Schwamel, FAIA; Sara Beardsley, FAIA.

The fellowship program was developed to elevate architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following areas:

  • Elevated the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession;
  • Promoted the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice;
  • Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA or other related professional organizations; or
  • Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment.

Congratulations to the five AIA Chicago members that have been elevated to Fellows:

Sara Beardsley, FAIA

Object 2, Practice (Technical Advancement)

Solomon Cordwell Buenz (SCB)

David Block, FAIA

Object 5, Alternative Career

Evergreen Real Estate Group

Xuan Fu, FAIA

Object 2, Practice (Management)

Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

Mark Schwamel, FAIA

Object 3, Led the Institute

Ware Malcomb

Mark Walsh, FAIA

Object 2, Practice (Technical Advancement)


The newly elevated members and their AIA component affiliations are listed below. For complete details and images, visit the fellows directory.

Ronald AboAIA Colorado
James Richard AlsopAIA North Carolina
Steven Kelly AlspaughAIA Indiana
Abimbola AsojoAIA Minnesota
Sara BeardsleyAIA Illinois / Chicago
Bernita BeikmannAIA Texas Society of Architects
David BlockAIA Illinois / Chicago
Dan BrunnAIA California Council
Charles CashAIA Kentucky
Jason ChandlerAIA Florida
Yew Kee CheongAIA International Chapters and US Territories
Christos ChrysiliouAIA California Council
Craig CopelandAIA New York State
Justin CraneAIA Massachusetts
Lance DavisAIA Washington DC
Jonathan FeldmanAIA California Council
Steven David FlanaganAIA California Council
Tenna FlorianAIA Texas Society of Architects
Mary FollenweiderAIA California Council
Xuan FuAIA Illinois / Chicago
Sanford GarnerAIA Indiana
James GarrettAIA Minnesota
Richard GravesAIA Minnesota
Todd GroverAIA Minnesota
Ravi GunewardenaAIA California Council
Maureen GuttmanAIA Pennsylvania
Daniel-Christopher (Neil) HallAIA Florida
Douglas HansonAIA California Council
Marnique HeathAIA Washington DC
Jason HolubyAIA Oklahoma
Adele HoughtonAIA Texas Society of Architects
Ping JiangAIA International Chapters and US Territories
Nathan JohnsonAIA Minnesota
Walter JonesAIA Ohio
Nerin KadribegovicAIA California Council
Neil KatzAIA New York State
Joongsub KimAIA Michigan
Susan KlimanAIA North Dakota
Varun KohliAIA New York State
William LaPatraAIA Washington Council
Bryan LijewskiAIA Michigan
Andrea LoveAIA Massachusetts
William MallariAIA Maryland
Nea MalooAIA Washington DC
Kenneth MartinAIA Virginia
Ryan McEnroeAIA Washington DC
Mike McGloneAIA Texas Society of Architects
Anne MooneyAIA Utah
Frances MooreAIA California Council
Jack MorganAIA Oklahoma
Diana NicklausAIA Massachusetts
Victor OlgyayAIA Colorado
Yen OngAIA Texas Society of Architects
Gregg PasquarelliAIA New York State
Janet Pogue McLaurinAIA Washington DC
Martin PrimmerAIA Kentucky
Robert ReisAIA Virginia
James RichardAIA Arizona
Joseph RuoccoAIA Washington DC
Timothy SchroederAIA Iowa
Mark SchwamelAIA Illinois / Chicago
Jeremy R. M. ShannonAIA New York State
Cass SmithAIA California Council
Jodi Smits AndersonAIA New York State
Christian SottileAIA Georgia
R. Brandon SpragueAIA Nevada
Brian TibbsAIA Tennessee
Brad TomecekAIA Colorado
Theodore TouloukianAIA Massachusetts
Mark WalshAIA Illinois / Chicago
Angela Ward HyattAIA Massachusetts
Rob WhiteheadAIA Iowa
Robin WhitehurstAIA Illinois / Prairie

The AIA Honorary Fellowship program honors international architects for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society on an international level. Three honorary fellows are being elevated this year by the 2023 Jury of Honorary Fellows. This year’s honorary fellows are:

Xiangming HuangShanghai, China
Philip F. YuanShanghai, China
Jiang WuShanghai, China

AIA Fellows and Honorary Fellows are selected by a nine-member Jury. This year’s jury included Chair James Atkins, FAIA, Atkins Consulting; Sandra Barclay, Hon. FAIA, Barclay & Crousse Architecture; Rainy Hamilton Jr., FAIA, Hamilton Anderson Associates; Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.; Rebecca Lewis, FAIA, DSGW Architects; Carl D’Silva, FAIA, Perkins&Will; RK Stewart, FAIA, RK Stewart Consultants; Allison Williams, FAIA, AGWms_studio and Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mahlum.

New fellows will be honored at a ceremony during the AIA Conference on Architecture 2023 in San Francisco.  Learn more about fellowship on AIA’s website as well as AIA Chicago’s website.

Paid Advertisement