AIA Chicago Announces Finalist Designs for the Lerch Bates People’s Choice Awards

(August 23, 2022) CHICAGO – AIA Chicago, the second largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects and the collective voice of 4,000 licensed architects, emerging professionals, architecture students, and allied professionals, today announced the finalists for the inaugural Lerch Bates People’s Choice Awards presented in partnership with the Chicago Architecture Center (CAC). The winners, as selected by the public in open voting, will be announced on September 12 at Pritzker Pavilion during Designight 2022, AIA Chicago’s first free and public architecture celebration.

The finalists for the Lerch Bates People’s Choice Awards in eight categories are:


CTA Bryn Mawr Temporary Elevated Station, EXP; Chicago, IL

CTA Quincy Elevated Station Renovation / Restoration, EXP; Chicago, IL

Hershey Garage, Lamar Johnson Collaborative; Hershey, PA

OhioHealth Neuroscience Wellness Center, Gensler; Columbus, OH

SOS Children’s Villages, JGMA; Chicago, IL


Chicago Cultural Center Grand Army of the Republic Rooms Restoration, Harboe Architects; Chicago, IL


Mindworks: The Science of Thinking, Krueck Sexton Partners; Chicago, IL

Riverview Pedestrian Bridge & Bike Path, Epstein with Andrew Metter, FAIA, UrbanLab (Associate Architect); Chicago, IL

Searle Visitor Center, Lincoln Park Zoo, Ross Barney Architects; Chicago, IL


The David Rubenstein Forum, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Brininstool + Lynch (Associate Architect); Chicago, IL

Illinois Street Residences Dining + Student Center, Booth Hansen; Urbana, IL

McCormick Square | MPEA | DePaul University Wintrust Arena, Moody Nolan; Chicago, IL

Simpson Querrey Biomedical Research Center, Perkins&Will; Chicago, IL

The Keller Center, Farr Associates, Architecture and Urban Design, Woodhouse Tinucci Architects (Collaborating Architect); Chicago, IL


1111 West Addison, Hirsch MPG LLC; Chicago, IL

Blue Bottle Coffee Wolf Point, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson; Chicago, IL

Granor Greenhouse, Wheeler Kearns Architects; Three Oaks, MI

Haymarket Books, 34-TEN; Chicago, IL

Viceroy Chicago, Goettsch Partners; Chicago, IL


1100 West Polk, Hanna Architects; Chicago, IL

2257 IRVING PARK, JOHN JOYCE dba JOMXarchitecture; Chicago, IL

La Casa Norte, Landon Bone Baker Architects; Chicago, IL

Pullman Artspace Lofts, Stantec Architecture Inc.; Chicago, IL

The Grand Logan Lodge, Pappageorge Haymes Partners; Chicago, IL


800 Fulton Market, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM); Chicago, IL

Promega Corporation, Kornberg Center, SmithGroup; Plain, WI

Union Project, AECOM; Indiana

Walgreens Chicago Office, Stantec Architecture Inc.; Chicago, IL

Willis Tower Repositioning, Gensler; EQ Office, Chicago, IL


Lawless Retreat, Searl Lamaster Howe Architects; Jones, MI

Midwest Sanctuary, Robbins Architecture; Deerfield, IL

The Brickyard, dSPACE STUDIO; Chicago, IL

Western Retreat, Robbins Architecture; Driggs, ID

Yannell PHIUS+ Residence, HPZS; Chicago, IL


5MLK, G|R|E|C Architects; Portland, OR

Bank of America Tower, Goettsch Partners; Chicago, IL

Centropolis, RATIO | smdp; Seoul, Jongno-gu, Korea

Shanghai Financial Exchange Plaza, Jahn/ | FGP Atelier; Pudong New Area, Shanghai, China

The Place at Fifth + Broadway, Pappageorge Haymes Partners; Gresham Smith, (Architect of Record); Nashville, TN

“As architects, we pour a lot of passion into the creation of our projects, solving complex problems and creating beautiful spaces,” said AIA Chicago President Drew Deering, AIA. “Chicagoans are great enthusiasts and advocates for architecture. This inaugural People’s Choice Award will allow Chicago architects and Chicagoans to unite their excitement for architecture.”

These finalists’ designs were chosen by Chicago Architecture Center’s Docents in a round one jury review from over 125 projects submitted during AIA Chicago’s Design Excellence Awards. Now the public can vote for their favorite architectural designs in eight categories by registering at https://bit.ly/LBpeopleschoiceawardsVoting ends at 5:00pm on September 6. For more, see the Designight 2022 FAQ.

“The Chicago Architecture Center is proud to be working on this new initiative with AIA Chicago,” said CAC Chief Operating Officer Juanna Blackwell. “Chicagoans know their architecture and the People’s Choice Award is sure to be a special honor for the winning projects. We encourage everyone to get involved and vote and exercise their informed opinions on our world class architecture.”

The restructured Design Excellence Awards, part of AIA Chicago’s signature awards program to be given at Designight 2022, recognize projects of all scales, from Architecture XS to XL, and Interior Architecture S to L. The Design Excellence Awards now include what in previous years were standalone Small Project Awards. In addition to the Design Excellence Awards, separate awards—chosen by an additional jury/committee—will be given for a new Decarbonization Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Finalists for the Design Excellence Awards and the Decarbonization Award were announced on August 16. The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Ralph Johnson of Perkins&Will, was announced on August 10. The finalists for the Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award were announced on August 18.

Designight 2022 is a free event where everyone is welcome; all firms, clients, consultants, partners, friends, and family—and all Chicagoans with a penchant for great architectural design. Designight 2022 will be hosted by architectural enthusiast Peter Sagal, of NPR’s Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

Paid Advertisement