AIA Chicago Announces Designs for the 2022 Design Excellence Awards Finalists and Decarbonization Award Finalists

AIA Chicago Designight 2022

AIA Chicago Designight 2022; Photo: Matt Mansueto

(August 16, 2022) CHICAGO  – AIA Chicago, the second largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects and the collective voice of 4,000 licensed architects, emerging professionals, architecture students, and allied professionals, today announced the finalists for its signature architectural design award program, the Design Excellence Awards, which honors the global design achievements of Chicago architects. Winners will be announced on September 12 at Pritzker Pavilion during Designight 2022, AIA Chicago’s first free and public architecture celebration. The recipients of each award tier below will be presented with either an Honor Award or a Citation of Merit Award at Designight 2022.

“We are so thrilled to be celebrating the work of AIA Chicago members with the public at the largest stage in the city,” said AIA Chicago’s Executive Director Jen Masengarb. “This work shows the breadth of knowledge and expertise that Chicago architects have to offer, and that clients from across the globe come to Chicago for excellence in architecture.”

The finalists for the 2022 Design Excellence Awards and Decarbonization Award are:

Design Excellence Awards Finalists by Category

Architecture Finalists

Arch XL

Central Park Tower, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture, Adamson Associates Architects (Associate Architect); Extell Development Company, New York, NY

Optima Kierland Center, David Hovey Sr., FAIA, Optima, Inc.; David Hovey & Associates Architect, Inc.; Scottsdale, AZ

Shanghai Financial Exchange Plaza, Jahn/ | FGP Atelier; Shanghai Stock Exchange, China Financial Futures Exchange, China Securities Depository and Clearing Corporation Ltd., Pudong New Area, Shanghai, China

Arch L

SoMa Site 3 Lab Building, Perkins&Will; Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Simpson Querrey Biomedical Research Center, Perkins&Will; Northwestern University, Chicago, IL

The Place at Fifth + Broadway, Pappageorge Haymes Partners; Gresham Smith, (Architect of Record); Brookfield Properties, Nashville, TN

Arch M

By The Hand Club – Moving Everest, Present Future Architects; By The Hand Club For Kids, Chicago, IL

KLEO Art Residences, JGMA; Imagine Development and Brinshore Development, Chicago, IL

Robert Crown Community Center, Woodhouse Tinucci Architects, MJMA Architecture and Design (Collaborating Architect); City of Evanston, Evanston, IL

The 801, DesignBridge, Ltd; The Community Builders, Oak Park, IL

The David Rubenstein Forum, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Brininstool + Lynch (Associate Architect); The University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Arch S/XS

Gillson Park Beach House, Woodhouse Tinucci Architects; Wilmette Park District, Wilmette, IL

Granor Greenhouse, Wheeler Kearns Architects; Granor Farm, Three Oaks, MI

O’Hare Airport Emergency Generator Station, Epstein with Andrew Metter, FAIA; Department of Aviation, City of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Rising Sun, David Hovey Sr., FAIA; Optima DCHGlobal, Inc.; Optima DCHGlobal, Inc., Scottsdale, AZ

Riverview Pedestrian Bridge & Bike Path, Epstein with Andrew Metter, FAIA, UrbanLab (Associate Architect); Chicago Dept. of Transportation (CDOT), Chicago, IL

SOS Children’s Villages, JGMA; SOS Children’s Villages Illinois and Maestro Cares, Chicago, IL

Interior Architecture Finalists

Interior Arch L

Financial Service Firm, Perkins&Will; Confidential, Chicago, IL

Facility Art Space, Carlo Parente Architecture Inc.; Nick Cave & Bob Faust, Chicago, IL

Lobby and Cafe Renovation, Perkins&Will; Shure Incorporated, Niles, IL

Willis Tower Repositioning, Gensler; EQ Office, Chicago, IL

Interior Arch M

999 Residence, Vladimir Radutny Architects; Confidential, Chicago, IL

Chicago Cultural Center Grand Army of the Republic Rooms Restoration, Harboe Architects; City of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Interior Arch S

BARDAVID, Brininstool + Lynch; University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Dayglow, Range Design & Architecture; Tohm Ifergan, Chicago, IL

Decarbonization Award Finalists

McDonald’s Global Flagship @ Walt Disney World Resort, Ross Barney Architects; CPH (Architect and Engineer of Record) McDonald’s Corporation, Lake Buena Vista, FL

The Keller Center, Farr Associates, Architecture and Urban Design, Woodhouse Tinucci Architects (Collaborating Architect); The Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

“Recognizing projects of all scales and sizes, from XS to XL, at one event will showcase the diversity and range of our membership,” said AIA Chicago President Drew Deering, AIA. “With our new venue for Designight, these award-winning projects and the efforts put into them by AIA Chicago members will be able to be celebrated by the entire firm, their clients, colleagues, friends, and family.”

The restructured Design Excellence Awards recognize projects of all scales, from Architecture XS to XL, and Interior Architecture S to L. The Design Excellence Awards now include what in previous years were standalone Small Project Awards. Finalists for the Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award which is administered by the AIA Chicago Foundation, will be announced soon. Designight 2022 will also feature the inaugural Lerch Bates People’s Choice Awards presented in partnership with the Chicago Architecture Center. Finalists for “best of” public voting will be announced in late August along with information on how people can vote for their favorite architectural designs submitted in 2022.

Designight 2022 is a free event where everyone is welcome; all firms, clients, consultants, partners, friends, and family—and all Chicagoans with a penchant for great architectural design. Designight 2022 will be hosted by architectural enthusiast Peter Sagal, of NPR’s Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

Paid Advertisement